(As a preface, I’ve been a little … uninspired. I’ve got a couple of things I WANT to write about, but there’s some Shit Going Down soon that has me a bit pre-ocupado, and it’s been hard to sit myself down get some words out. Hopefully, I make some time this week-ish to write (and also knit), though realistically, there’s a good chance I’ll spend my spare time Kicking Ass and Taking Names in Radiant.)

ANYWAYS, I was just sitting here, reading some blog posts in Reader, as one does, when I got to the most recent post by the SJSU School of Library and Information Sciences: FALL 2011 SCHEDULES ARE AVAILABLE. Like, I KNEW I was starting school in the Fall, but now it’s REAL. I’M REALLY DOING THIS. AGAIN. And it’s a little terrifying.

I feel utterly unprepared for what’s to come and could easily lose most of the afternoon in a haze of not actually productive SJSU SLIS site browsing looking at courses and schedules and advisor names and transfer credits and figuring out how long this endeavor is going to take me if I take 6 credits per semester? How about 9? Can I get away with more than that? Will it take less time if they accept the 9 credits I earned at Pitt as transfer credits? Oh look! They have like A MILLION classes about resources and materials and literature for babies and kids and tweens and teens and HOLY CRAP. Should I take one of everything? Should I maybe only take one or two of those classes and maybe take some classes that might round out my education? Like what if I can’t get a job in a children’s department but the only classes I’ve ever taken are about working in a children’s department? I should take some other classes. But what? There’s so many OPTIONS and WORDS describing each class! Collection Management! That sounds useful! OO, and something about the Web! And Digital Librarianship! Yes! How many of these classes will I be ABLE to take? I should find out if they’ll accept my transfer credits. Is it too early? I should email the lady that they tell me to email. And a language class? Should I take Spanish that focuses on serving the community?

And this doesn’t even BEGIN to cover the worries I have about working and living and wondering if I can ACTUALLY do it and Getting a Job once I’m done. And next thing I know INFORMATION OVERLOAD BRAIN SHUTS DOWN, and I’m playing some more Radiant on my phone.