I miss my home. Not everyday like before, but every once in awhile, it hits me HARD. I miss my family, both those by blood and especially those by choice. My best friend, the person who knows me best, is too far away. I don’t know what to do without her. She called me tonight, and we were crying on the phone together, and all I wanted to do was go to her, hug her, be with her.

I like my life here, I do. I love my job, I love my apartment, and I know good things are coming to me, but sometimes I DESPERATELY want to go HOME, where people know me, where I FIT. I need to find that here, but I’m not sure how. I want drinking buddies, going out dancing buddies, movie watching buddies. OH how I LONG for someone to go to the movies with. I’m praying for strength, guidance, friends. I know God didn’t bring me here to screw up my life but to maybe do some pruning and to bring blessings. And he has! The blessings are already flowing into my life, so I’ll just keep praying over my situation & my life.

In other news, one of my classes began today and the other starts tomorrow. I inputted all of my assignments and all of my readings into my google calendar, and I’ll try to set alerts or something when I get my fancy new phone next week. Ideally, I would watch the lecture tomorrow, but I think Tuesdays and Thursdays are going to be my big gym days – great classes all in a row in the evenings. Instead, I’ll try to watch them on Fridays and Mondays, and I WILL watch all of the lectures this semester! I have a vague plan of attack for this semester, though it mostly consists of BE MORE AWESOME.

In fact, that is the entirety of my 2010 resolution: BE MORE AWESOME. In school, in work, in making friends, in socializing, in exploring my new home, in getting fit and healthy, in building my relationship with God.

So with that in mind, I think I’ll just stop being sad and start being AWESOME instead.

