For Christmas, I bought The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.  I’ve been hearing great things about it, and this seemed to be a good opportunity to pick it up.  Two days later, one of my good friends, with whom I share a lot of books, started loudly singing it’s praises.  I started it Monday night and came very close to finishing it last night.  I had to FORCE myself to set it aside to get some sleep.

This is the story of a post-apocalyptic dystopian North America. The country is divided into 12 districts and the Capitol City, and every year each of the 12 districts has to send 2 teenagers to the Capitol for the Hunger Games, a gladiatorial-like event in which the teens try to kill each other. This story is told from the perspective of Katniss, a girl from the poorest district, whose contestants rarely survive the Games. Within the first two chapters, the author had me tearing up and sitting on the edge of my seat. The book is funny and gripping. Katniss is a great strong heroine, and I can’t wait to see how she changes the world, because you know within the first few pages that she’s an ass kicker.

Collins has written two sequels, and I hope they are both as engaging as this one.

