This week, I realized I had basically turned into Paul Rudd in I Love You, Man. Somehow, this provided the impetus I needed to join Meetup.com in an attempt to make some friends, since I don’t have Andy Samberg to set me up on blind friend dates. Instead, I’m letting the internet do it for me!

Last night was my first blind group friend date, and I was SUPER nervous. We were going to see When in Rome (surprisingly not terrible! In fact, quite funny!) and then out for dinner afterwards. I spent the whole day wondering how I would recognize them, what if they didn’t like me? What if I didn’t like them? What if they were weird??? But somehow, it seems I have found My People. Drinking! Joking about sex! Movies! Loud and obnoxious! WHAT MORE COULD I ASK FOR? There’s even a woman in the group who lived in Tucson! We bonded over Lucky Wishbone and Eegee’s. There’s a also a Scumdevil in the group, but I won’t let that stop me for enjoying it! ;) Tonight is my second date: a ladies only passion party, following by drinks at someone’s home. MY PEOPLE.

Today, I was off to the library for a school assignment: observation of an early childhood program and to sign up for a library card, which is USUALLY one of the first things I do when I move somewhere new. The early childhood program was cute, full of bouncy toddlers, and the library was … kind of great. Right down the street from me is the Alameda County Main Branch, and it was … HUGE. And the graphic novel section OH MY. They didn’t have much in the way of superhero graphic novels, which I think is a little unusual, but they had lots of manga (I’m totally going to read Oh My Goddess and Ramna 1/2) and lots of John Constantine, Neil Gaiman and Alan Moore (like 6 copies of Watchmen and 3 of From Hell, which my teen librarian in high school refused to shelve in the teen section because of the mature content). I think I’m going to like it here.

