So I’ve been making a legit attempt to run on a regular basis recently, which involves waking up an hour earlier than normal in order to be out the door and running at 6 am. SIX FUCKING AM. I HATE 6 am. If I could NEVER see 6 am again, I’d be very happy. But at least it’s not 5 am. That bitch is even worse.

And you know what? Except for the fact that I hate 6 am ON PRINCIPLE, it’s really not so bad. You know what’s weird for me? It’s CHILLY at 6 am. I need a JACKET. In JULY. You know when you need a jacket in July in Tucson? When you spend 3+ hours sitting in an overly air conditioned room. Maybe. I mean, by the time I’m about halfway through my run, I DO NOT need a jacket anymore, but to start out? JACKET.

But you know? Getting my workout out of the way first thing in the morning is nice. It’s refreshing. AND I have a little bit of time to actually get ready before work. Do my hair. Put a little makeup on. Maybe stick my contacts in. AND I still get to work 10-20 minutes before I had been recently, which means I can leave work 10-20 minutes earlier in the afternoon. You know what I DO NOT enjoy? Not cooling off until over an hour after I finish the run. No matter how much cold water I stand under or how long I stand in front of a fan on hi, I am HOT. My face is RED. And I am STILL SWEATING MY GOD JUST STOP SWEATING.

I’ve also been trying to get some exercise on the stair climber in as well, since, as my feller likes to remind me, we’ll be doing quite a bit of hiking in Hawaii, and I don’t want my legs collapsing on the side of a mountain. And DANG, stair climber is hard, yo. Also, I HATE exercise machines. I get SO BORED there stomping away, but there aren’t really any conveniently located sets of stairs, though I might trying running up and down these little half sets my apartment complex has around. We’ll see.

Ideally, I’d be running in the morning 3 times a week and getting in stairs in the afternoons when I get home from work. But sometimes, after 10 hours at work, I kind of just want to sit on the couch and eat pizza. Which is why my furniture is still piled in the middle of my floor. The electricians are done, but … eh. Pizza, cheap wine and crappy TV sound WAAAAY better most nights. And this week has been a bit of a screw off week for me; I’ve spent more nights at my feller’s place than I have mine, and we’re always up so late that I need the extra hour of sleep. Maybe tomorrow morning I’ll get up and try those little sets of stairs. Or maybe not.

At some point, I might want to think about doing some sort of exercise that works more than my legs; the legs of my jeans have gotten pretty baggy but the waist has not. Oh well. My legs are my problem area, so I’m not going to complain.

And in about three weeks, I will own some Hobbit Feet. Oh yes. They will be mine.

