Getting ready for Hawaii required hours of planning, and since my feller had a lot going on at work which kept him occupied all day, most of the planning for activities while we were there fell to me. Which is not always my favorite part of vacation. By which I mean, I kind of hate PLANNING stuff. But I spent a ton of time researching diving companies on Yelp and checking out websites and calling places and figuring out the schedule and and and.

And I found this diving place in Oahu that had great reviews on Yelp or at least decent reviews and for God’s sakes after awhile, after you’ve looked at SIX MILLION businesses on Yelp and checked out their websites and called them and they all have BASICALLY the same reviews and similar schedules, so it comes to a point where the price is the only thing doing the talking. And how nice people are on the phone. Surly people don’t get my business (like the one lady who told me not to bother with a nose piercing if you have any allergies, to you, my allergic nose that has been pierced since 2005 says Eff You).

Which is basically how I wound up planning on using Rainbow Scuba for our Oahu diving, though I was a bit worried when they told me their boat was in dry dock; however, I was assured that it would be fine and they would be able to work something out for us. Which is why I was so shocked when I called them the day we arrived to arrange our dives, and I was told that Oops! Their boat was in dry dock and there was nothing they could do for us. And I was so shocked that I just said thank you and hung up the phone.

And immediately, FRANTICALLY, started Yelping more diving companies and began the process of calling them. THANK GOD, the first company I called, while not being able to accommodate us, gave us Captain Bruce’s number, who SERIOUSLY, NO JOKE, saved our Oahu leg.

First Dive!

Mark (or possibly Mike) bent over backwards to hook us up with two AMAZING days of diving. He was understanding about our inexperience and made sure he had a scuba instructor for us on our first dive, which happened to be a 90 foot deep night dive. We hit up the Mahi wreck and then hit the LCU wreck, and saw some AMAZING little critters.

Spiny Crown of Thorns

Puffer fish!

Pipe

They were SO amazing, and we got to see the LCU again the next day.

Patriotic

Shark!

First turtle!

We also visited the Makaha Caverns and saw more turtles and so many fish, and I saw my first little eel poking his head out of the reef.

I seriously, honestly, no way can express how AWESOME Captain Bruce was for us. They were understanding and accommodating and patient and wonderful with a couple of newbies. They saved the first leg of our trip, and I am so appreciative for everything they did for us. Awesome, and completely worth the hour drive from Waikiki.

(Also, my Flickr photos were all taken by my feller and are in no order whatsoever. Sorry about that.)

