I just finished Bumped by Megan McCafferty, and OH MY, is it good. I think I first heard about this book from The Fug Girls, but I probably would have picked it up anyways; I’m a sucker for Distopian YA fiction.

In this book, McCafferty creates a world in which only teenagers are fertile, which leads to them selling that fertility to the highest bidder. Teens are encouraged and rewarded for “bumping” with each other to make a baby (for some reason that wasn’t made very clear, using teens’ sperm and egg to implant in an adult isn’t a viable option).

Bumped is written from the perspective of identical twin sisters who were separated at birth and have recently reconnected. The chapters alternate between Melody, a girl who has been groomed for Surrogacy since before she hit puberty, and Harmony, a girl raised in an uber “churchy” farming community that shuns the outside world and modern technology. Harmony has shown up on Melody’s doorstep unannounced, ostensibly to bring God into her new found sister’s life, and, as one might expect, mistaken identity hijinks ensue.

The thing that I really loved about this book is how UNIQUE each girl’s voice is. As I was reading, I could distinctly “hear” the difference in their personalities, and I think I would have been able to tell the difference between each girl’s sections even if they weren’t labeled. I know that sounds like such a little thing to appreciate so much, but the way McCafferty was able to distinguish the sisters through their manner of speaking alone was really masterful.

Also, while I do consider this to be a Distopia, the society is not as grim as we often see in Distopian YA novels. In fact, if it weren’t for 75% world having a virus that kills adult fertility, this book would read like regular YA chick lit (which isn’t to say that boys won’t/cant like this book), and you know? I think it’s great. I really like that McCafferty created this really awful problem, and, instead of making the setting and plot horrible and desperate to match, she put the problem in a light hearted, bubblegum, bright story.

The characters are all just regular teenagers learning to navigate life and love. They’ve got problems and issues just like any other teenager. They’re making decisions about drugs and college and the opposite sex, and even though they live in a society in which teens are encouraged (and paid) to “bump” each other for procreation, having sex and making babies isn’t as black and white for our main characters.

I LOVED Bumped, and I’m super looking forward to the sequel, and if I get the time, I’m totally checking out McCafferty’s other books.

